Relaxing, A Luxury Talent Learned at Turks and Caicos

My own idea of vacation is a relaxing trip away from the chaotic pace of the office.  However, after having lumbered across every cobblestone corner of Paris whilst taking in the sights on my summer travels, I returned home desperately wanting a week’s worth of sleep.  After a long weekend in San Francisco, I felt as if I couldn’t climb the stairs at home for two days.  Even my warm winter getaway to Saint Lucia’s Caribbean beaches had me laid up with a sore back (ocean kayaking), blistered hands (jet-skiing), and a strange bite on my leg (snorkeling). It seems each time I venture abroad on “vacation,” I return home battle-torn requiring additional time away from work to recuperate.

So, when I finally decided my next trip would be to the Caribbean island of Turks and Caicos, it was with careful consideration.  I hadn’t planned any activities as I usually do to “make the most of my vacation,” and I pondered whether I might enjoy simply lazing on a beach for five days without an agenda to occupy me.  Despite my apprehensions, I selected Grace Bay as my beach oasis. I made my way to the hotel and then immediately to the beach to witness the swathes of coffee cream sands bordering the turquoise waters.  Much to my surprise, the beach was not crowded with swarms of visitors.  This island felt private, free of the typical cacophony found at most beaches. I made my way to a deluxe cocooned chaise lounge to decide the week’s agenda, when I discovered how relaxing sitting idle could be. Or, tasting the day’s catch with a made to order cocktail while staring out into the cerulean blue.  The pristine beach and clear waters surrounding Turks and Caicos were my teachers in life’s lesson to slow down and breathe.  This vacation was different: it seemed simple to purposefully fill my days with nothing. When I returned home, I realized for the first that I did not need time off after my vacation. It was brilliant!

Have you ever purposely done absolutely nothing for an entire week of vacation?

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Relaxing, A Luxury Talent Learned at Turks and Caicos

  1. […] Happy to give lessons on how to relax if anyone else is in need. Just take us with you on your Caribbean vacations and we’ll handle the rest. Relaxing, A Luxury Talent Learned at Turks and Caicos […]

  2. [...] Relaxing, A Luxury Talent Learned at Turks and Caicos (bespoketraveler.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. [...] Happy to give lessons on how to relax if anyone else is in need. Just take us with you on your Caribbean vacations and we’ll handle the rest. Relaxing, A Luxury Talent Learned at Turks and Caicos [...]

  4. Anita Mac says:

    Sounds idyllic! Love the cocooned lounge chairs! I have never seen those before! Maybe next November (my typical go away and be totally rested trip!!) I am like you – I often come home from very active vacations a little tired, full of great memories and stories, but in need of an extra day or two to catch up! Don’t know if I would make a full week – last trip to Jamaica included 2 tours off to keep my action cravings under control! Turks and Caicos water looks so inviting – can’t wait!

    • Cabbie Notes says:

      Idyllic is the perfect word for a vacation on this island! I hope you get to experience the restfulness of Turks and Caicos, though like you I thought I would have a harder time doing nothing for so many days.

Please share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

